MINUTES OF LOCAL INNOVATION COMMITTEE MEETING EL PASO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT April 8, 2021 12:00 P.M.

PRESENT:Cezy Collins, General Counsel
Dr. Tamekia Brown, Chief Academic Officer
Patricia Cortez, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources
Nancy Tovar, Assistant Superintendent of Elementary Schools
Norma De La Rosa, President of El Paso Teachers Association
Ross Moore, President of El Paso American Federation of Teachers
Nancy Hanson, Principal, Logan Elementary School
Jessica Silva, Librarian, El Paso High School
Richard Gutierrez, UTEP Professor
Laura Strelzin Bagley, Teacher, Franklin High School
Dow Farley, Retired Teacher
Dr. Deborah Fetzer, Youth Education Support Services Director, Fort Bliss Liaison
Jonathan Childress, Community Engagement Manager, Microsoft TechSpark Program

ABSENT:Martha Aguirre, Executive Director of Budget & External Financial Management
Dr. Sarah Chavez-Gibson, Principal, Stanton Elementary School
Ray Adauto, El Paso Builders Association
Mari Vanpelt, Community Member
Michael Martinez, City Manager, Sunland Park, NM
Dr. Elena Izquierdo, UTEP Professor
Mica Short, Vice President of Development, Paso Del Norte Community Foundation
Gustavo Arriaga, Lead Program Manager, Southwest Region, Microsoft Philanthropies TEALS
Program

OTHER: Gabriela Gomez, Executive Assistant General Counsel Dr. Rosie Perez, Coordinator Legal Services and Office of Quality Management

A. Welcome

Ms. Cezy Collins, General Counsel, and Dr. Brown, Chief Academic Officer, welcomed the Committee Members to the final Committee meeting. Ms. Collins thanked the committee members for their time.

B. Recap of Prior Meeting and Distribution of Minutes

Ms. Collins provided a brief overview of the Community meeting. The meeting minutes for the prior Committee meeting (March 31, 2021) were sent via email to the Committee.

C. Discussion of Community Meeting Regarding Local Innovation Plan

Ms. Collins thanked the Committee members who were present at the community meeting held April 7, 2021. She stated there were about 60 total participants in the meeting including several Committee members. Ms. Collins thanked Mr. Martinez, Dr. Izquierdo, Ms. De La Rosa and Mr. Moore for their participation and input at the community meeting. Ms. Tovar stated she appreciated the efforts of the Committee members and the thorough explanation. Ms. Tovar stated people are more familiar with the process now. Ms. Tovar commended the Committee speakers for their comments. Mr. Gutierrez stated it would be prudent to inform employees about the innovation plan outcomes.

D. Draft, Review, and Revise Local Innovation Plan as needed

Ms. Collins stated that the Board will give the Commissioner notice of their intent to vote on the Plan. The Plan will be posted 30 days prior to the May 11, 2021 Board meeting. Ms. Collins asked Committee members if they felt any adjustments needed to be made to the Plan. The Committee was in agreement to proceed with submitting the plan for consideration and vote of the DEIC and the Board of Trustees.

E. Discussion of Presentation of Local Innovation Plan to Board of Trustees

Ms. Collins stated the Board is meeting on May 11, 2021. Committee members that volunteered to present at that meeting were Mr. Moore, Ms. Silva, Ms. De La Rosa, Mr. Gutierrez, and Mr. Childress. Committee was asked for feedback on the format on how to present to the Board. Ms. De La Rosa asked about the format because Board meeting format differs from community meeting format. Mr. Moore suggested a more compact version of the Community meeting presentation. Committee agreed to have different community members present each of the exemptions. The vote will go to the DEIC and

Committee members were asked to be present at the DEIC meeting to present the Innovation Plan. Ms. Collins stated she would reach out via email to the Committee regarding the details of the DEIC meeting.

F. Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 12:22 p.m.